Wigan Athletic replace Warren Joyce with Graham Barrow

by Jack Kitson / 13 March 2017, 12:23

Warren Joyce has become the third Championship casualty in the space of just four days after Wigan Athletic gave him the boot.

Joyce, who only bagged the job in November, has been hurled out of the exit door after just four months following the weekend’s 1-0 defeat at home to relegation rivals Bristol City.

The loss left the Latics (23rd) four points adrift of safety with nine matches remaining, resulting in the club orchestrating a change for the second time this season as they bid to avoid an instant return to League One.

Wigan have placed long-serving coach Graham Barrow in charge until the end of the season - the 62-year-old previously took caretaker charge of the Latics in late 2013, losing both games.

Back in October Wigan sacked Gary Caldwell, who only months earlier had led the club up to the second-tier (as champions), and within a week had lured Joyce over from his job in charge of Man Utd Reserves, which he had held since 2008.

Joyce endured a losing start at the helm, going down 3-0 at home to Norwich - they were two down after a nightmare opening five minutes - however, he went on to collect four points from his following two matches, although this was proceeded by a meagre tally of one point in seven games.

Towards the start of 2017 Wigan bagged back-to-back victories over Burton and Brentford, but they’ve since picked up only two wins in 10, with the Bristol City game proving to be Joyce’s 24th and final fixture.




Managers Departed

Last man down

Grant McCann
(Peterborough United)
25th February


Next Manager Odds

Cambridge United

Next Manager Odds


Next Manager Odds

Grimsby Town

Next Manager Odds

Hartlepool United

Next Manager Odds

Manchester United

Next Manager Odds

Newcastle United

Next Manager Odds

Oxford United

Next Manager Odds

Paris St Germain

Next Manager Odds

Real Madrid

Next Manager Odds

Rep of Ireland

Next Manager Odds

West Bromwich Albion

Next Manager Odds

Premier League

Next Manager To Leave

Football Blogging Awards Winner 2016