Arsenal icon Dennis Bergkamp enters the next Southampton manager market

by Jack Kitson / 21 June 2017, 09:35

A new name has burst into the betting to become the Next Southampton Manager, in Arsenal legend Dennis Bergkamp.

The Dutchman previously didn't feature in the Saints market but one bookmaker, Sky Bet, has handed the former Gunners player odds of 16/1 to return to the Premier League as a manager with Southampton.

Bergkamp, who 22 years ago yesterday (Tuesday) signed for Arsenal, drew the curtains on his playing career in 2006, then despite an initial reluctance he ventured into coaching with Ajax in 2008, going on to assist at the club's youth teams.

In 2011 Bergkamp was appointed Frank de Boer's assistant of the senior team - a position he has held ever since.

However, the 48-year-old's sudden appearance in the betting for the Saints job could change this.

It's now been a week since the Hampshire outfit sacked boss Claude Puel. The likes of former Alaves boss Mauricio Pellegrino, Bergkamp's old Arsenal teammate Patrick Vieira, and his compatriot Frank de Boer have all been linked with the club, who are keen to appoint a new boss by the end of the month.

Meanwhile, the Saints will host Swansea on the opening day of the 2017/18 season (Saturday 12th August), which is followed by fixtures against West Ham, Huddersfield and Watford.

But, between mid-November and mid-December they have a daunting run of games against the likes of Liverpool, Everton, Man City, Arsenal and Chelsea.


Managers Departed

Last man down

Grant McCann
(Peterborough United)
25th February


Next Manager Odds

Cambridge United

Next Manager Odds


Next Manager Odds

Grimsby Town

Next Manager Odds

Hartlepool United

Next Manager Odds

Manchester United

Next Manager Odds

Newcastle United

Next Manager Odds

Oxford United

Next Manager Odds

Paris St Germain

Next Manager Odds

Real Madrid

Next Manager Odds

Rep of Ireland

Next Manager Odds

West Bromwich Albion

Next Manager Odds

Premier League

Next Manager To Leave

Football Blogging Awards Winner 2016