Caretaker Matthew Bates early favourite for the Hartlepool United job

by Jack Kitson / 25 April 2017, 10:42

Dave Jones became the 49th top-4 tier managerial casualty of the season on Monday after Hartlepool United gave him the boot - He lasted only 18 games over just three months.

Click here for the Next Hartlepool Manager Market

Back in January Hartlepool disposed of Craig Hignett, meaning they’ve now axed two managers in a single season.

Not since Danny Wilson (2006-2008) has a Hartlepool manager lasted over 100 games (133) in the dugout, with the club steamrolling through nine permanent managers since he left Victoria Park.

In fact, well perhaps unsurprisingly, not a single one of those bosses after Wilson accumulated over a 40% win percentage.

Following Monday’s departure of Jones, which came less than 48 hours after Jeff Stelling’s remarkable rant, Hartlepool revealed that Matthew Bates - assisted by Billy Payner, Stuart Parnaby and Ian Gallagher - had been placed in charge until the end of the season.

Hartlepool won’t be appointing a new permanent boss until the summer but it’s Bates, 30, who has the chance to bolster his credentials by keeping Pools in the Football League, with the club currently two points adrift of safety with two games to go.

Defender Bates has been installed as the early favourite for the post, ahead of former Grimsby Town boss Marcus Bignot, ex Pools caretaker Sam Collins, and the inevitably linked Ronnie Moore, while the likes of Martin Allen, Neil Aspin and Robbie Stockdale also feature at this early stage, whereas Jeff Stelling is a 100/1 shot!


Managers Departed

Last man down

Uwe Rosler
(Fleetwood Town)
17th February


Next Manager Odds

Cambridge United

Next Manager Odds


Next Manager Odds

Fleetwood Town

Next Manager Odds

Manchester United

Next Manager Odds

Newcastle United

Next Manager Odds

Oxford United

Next Manager Odds

Paris St Germain

Next Manager Odds

Real Madrid

Next Manager Odds

Rep of Ireland

Next Manager Odds

Premier League

Next Manager To Leave

Football Blogging Awards Winner 2016