Newport County

Graham Westley


Graham Westley

Nickname Exiles

Founded 1912

Stadium Rodney Parade

Time at Club:





Newport County appointed Graham Westley as their manager in October 2016, with the former Peterborough boss replacing the sacked Warren Feeney in the dugout. Feeney was sacked following a poor start to the season, and it's now up to Westley to pick up the pieces and change the club's fortunes.

Newport won the Welsh Cup back in 1980, and went on to impressively reach the quarter-finals of the UEFA Cup Winner's Cup. However, the end of the 80s was a disaster, with the club suffering relegation from the Football League (1988), before subsequently going out of business a year later. The club reformed shortly after but were forced to begin life down in the Hellenic League, which was four divisions below the Football League.

The Exiles have enjoyed a successful time of late, during which they have won promotion twice in the last four years, from Conference South up to League Two. The Welsh side will now be looking to build on their impressive showing back in the Football League, which saw them secure a 14th place finish in 2014/15, but just avoided the drop last term.

Recent Form


Newport County have a solitary win against Hartlepool United and 5 draws against Morecambe, Grimsby Town, Doncaster Rovers, Barnet and Colchester United over the last 10 games to thank for earning a mediocre 8 points. Newport County have surrendered 13 goals in the process while scoring 10 to give them a poor 10 goal difference.


Recent Results

Manager History

ManagerStart Date - End DateRecord
Graham Westley07 Oct 2016 - PresentWon: 5, Drawn: 11, Lost: 12
Warren Feeney13 Jan 2016 - 28 Sep 2016Won: 7, Drawn: 8, Lost: 19
John Sheridan02 Oct 2015 - 13 Jan 2016Won: 5, Drawn: 7, Lost: 5
Terry Butcher30 Apr 2015 - 01 Oct 2015Won: 1, Drawn: 3, Lost: 9
Jimmy Dack *07 Feb 2015 - 29 Apr 2015Won: 5, Drawn: 4, Lost: 8
Justin Edinburgh04 Oct 2011 - 07 Feb 2015Won: 75, Drawn: 46, Lost: 59
Dean Holdsworth01 May 2008 - 11 Jan 2011Unknown
John Cornforth01 Sep 2004 - 01 Jan 2005Unknown
Eddie May01 Apr 1988 - 30 May 1988Unknown
Jimmy Mullen01 Jul 1986 - 30 Jun 1987Unknown
Bobby Smith01 Jun 1985 - 01 Apr 1986Unknown
Len Ashurst01 Jul 1978 - 30 Jun 1982Unknown
Colin Addison01 Jul 1977 - 30 Jun 1978Unknown
Bobby Ferguson01 Jul 1969 - 30 Jun 1970Unknown

* Caretaker/Interim Manager

League Performance
20. Notts County329716-1934
21. Accrington Stanley3071013-1231
22. Hartlepool United3271015-1931
23. Leyton Orient328519-1529
24. Newport County3251017-1625
League Results

Accrington Stanley



Cambridge United

Carlisle United

Cheltenham Town

Colchester United

Crawley Town

Crewe Alexandra

Doncaster Rovers

Exeter City

Grimsby Town

Hartlepool United

Leyton Orient

Luton Town

Mansfield Town


Notts County

Plymouth Argyle



Wycombe Wanderers

Yeovil Town

Football Blogging Awards Winner 2016