Next Sheffield Wednesday manager odds

Sheffield Wednesday have appointed Carlos Carvalhal as their new head coach after Swindon boss Mark Cooper rejected the chance to succeed Stuart Gray in the dugout.

The Owls appointed Gray as their permanent manager back in January 2014. The 53-year-old had enjoyed a successful two-month spell as caretaker boss, which included a stunning 6-0 win over Yorkshire rivals Leeds, and progression through to the 5th Round of the FA Cup. Gray went on to successfully keep the Owls in the Championship following an impressive 16th place finish, a position the club topped in 2014/15 (13th).

Last 6 League Games

21 NovSheffield Wednesday3 - 1Huddersfield TownW
07 NovCharlton Athletic3 - 1Sheffield WednesdayL
03 NovSheffield Wednesday0 - 0Brighton And Hove AlbionD
31 OctSheffield Wednesday1 - 0Nottingham ForestW
23 OctRotherham United1 - 2Sheffield WednesdayW
20 OctQueens Park Rangers0 - 0Sheffield WednesdayD
11 / 18pts

Upcoming Fixtures

28 NovBlackburn Rovers16:00Sheffield Wednesday
05 DecSheffield Wednesday16:00Derby County
12 DecCardiff City16:00Sheffield Wednesday
15 DecMilton Keynes Dons20:45Sheffield Wednesday
19 DecSheffield Wednesday16:00Wolverhampton Wanderers
26 DecSheffield Wednesday16:00Birmingham City

Sheffield Wednesday Manager History

ManagerStart DateEnd Date
Stuart Gray25 January 201411 June 2015
Dave Jones1 March 20121 December 2013
Gary Megson4 February 201129 February 2012
Alan Irvine8 January 20103 February 2011
Brian Laws6 November 200613 December 2009
Sean McAuley19 October 20066 November 2006
Paul Sturrock23 September 200419 October 2006
Chris Turner7 November 200219 September 2004
Bill Green1 November 20027 November 2002
Terry Yorath17 October 200131 October 2002
Peter Shreeves12 February 200117 October 2001
Paul Jewell21 June 200012 February 2001
Peter Shreeves21 March 200021 June 2000
Danny Wilson6 July 199821 March 2000
Ron Atkinson14 November 199717 May 1998
David Pleat14 June 19953 November 1997
Trevor Francis17 June 199120 May 1995
Ron Atkinson14 February 19896 June 1991
Peter Eustace28 October 198814 February 1989
Howard Wilkinson24 June 198310 October 1988
Maurice Setters27 May 198324 June 1983
Jack Charlton8 October 197727 May 1983
Len Ashurst15 October 19755 October 1977
Steve Burtenshaw29 January 19741 October 1975
Derek Dooley1 January 197124 December 1973
Danny Williams1 July 19691 January 1971
Jack Marshall1 February 19681 April 1969
Alan Brown1 August 196431 July 1968
Vic Buckingham1 May 19611 March 1964
Harry Catterick1 August 195830 April 1961
Eric Taylor1 April 194231 July 1958
Jimmy McMullan1 December 19371 April 1942
Billy Walker1 December 193330 November 1937
Robert Brown1 June 19201 December 1933
Arthur Dickinson1 August 189131 May 1920

Recent History

Sheff Wed have had a troublesome 12 years since they were relegated from the Premier League at the end of the 1999/2000 season The Owls have been stuck in England's second and third tiers. In 2003 they were relegated to League One but won promotion back into the Championship at the end of the 2004/05 season. They stayed in the Championship until 2010 when they were relegated back down to League One.

In 2010/11 they finished in a disappointing 15th place. Midway through the season they parted ways with Alan Irvine who had been in charge of the side for 13 months. His replacement was the former Bolton manager Gary Megson who is looking to win automatic promotion to the Championship after a decent start to the season.

Sheff Wed have won the First Division title on four occasions, however, the last one came way back in 1930. They have three FA Cups to their name as well as a League Cup, which was their last major piece of Silverware in the year 1991.

Present League Position
6.Birmingham City17845241828
8.Sheff Wed17764232027
9.Cardiff City17674171425
10.Ipswich Town17674252525
Sheffield Wednesday Results
Birmingham City--
Blackburn Rovers--
Bolton Wanderers-0-0
Brighton And Hove Albion0-0-
Bristol City2-0-
Cardiff City--
Charlton Athletic-3-1
Derby County--
Huddersfield Town3-1-
Hull City1-1-
Ipswich Town-2-1
Leeds United-1-1
Milton Keynes Dons--
Nottingham Forest1-0-
Preston North End3-1-
Queens Park Rangers-0-0
Rotherham United-1-2
Sheffield Wednesday--
Wolverhampton Wanderers--


About The Sack RaceAbout Our AuthorsContact UsResponsible Gambling