Which managers have qualified for the 2018 World Cup?

Jack Kitson by Jack Kitson / 11 October 2017, 11:55

Which managers have qualified for the 2018 World Cup?

23 of the 32 spaces available for participation at the 2018 World Cup have now been snapped up following the latest round of qualification fixtures, meaning nine prized places are still up for grabs.

Below we take a look at the managers that have already booked their spot in Russia next summer, as well as some of those that have agonisingly missed out on the showpiece spectacle.

Key Dates

17 Oct: Europe play-off draw

6 & 14 Nov: Honduras v Australia Play-Offs

6 & 14 Nov: New Zealand v Peru Play-Offs

9-11 Nov: Europe Play-off 1st legs

10-14 Nov: Final Africa Group Stage Games

12-14 Nov: Europe Play-off 2nd legs

1 Dec: Group Stage Draw

14 June - 15 July 2018: World Cup!

European Zone

Qualified Managers: 10

As hosts of football’s biggest tournament Russia were the first name in the 2018 World Cup pot. In the past The National Team have been managed by former England boss Fabio Capello and the current Hull gaffer Leonid Slutsky, but the current incumbent is Stanislav Cherchesoc (2016-) whose been charged with leading his country on home soil.

One of the most high-profile managers to qualify from the European zone is the defending World Cup winning boss Joachim Low who will be bidding to become only the second back-to-back winning manager since Vittorio Pozzo (Italy 1934 & 1938).

Gareth Southgate will become the latest England manager to inevitably flop at a World Cup (we are joking of course, The Three Lions will steam to victory!), and he’ll be joined by Portugal’s European Championship winning gaffer Fernando Santos, Spain’s Julen Lopetegui, Belgium boss Roberto Martinez, and France’s Didier Deschamps...providing he isn’t axed beforehand...

Iceland’s memorable journey continues as they will take part in Russia under the guidance of head coach Heimir Hallgrimsson, with Slavoljub Muslin managing Serbia, and Adam Nawalka overseeing Poland.

Meanwhile, a further four of eight managers will join after the play-offs come to a close in November.

South American Zone

Qualified Managers: 4

Brazil were left humiliated three years when they were spanked 7-1 by Germany at the 2014 World Cup. As a result Dunga replaced Luiz Felipe Scolari, but it’s Tite who has been in charge of the Canarinho since June 2016. The five-time champions waltzed through qualifying, winning 12 and losing only one of their 18 games, topping the CONMEBOL by 10 points.

Joining Brazil in Russia will be Uruguay’s Oscar Tabarez, Colombia’s Jose Pekerman, and Argentine’s Jorge Sampaoli whose side finally booked their place after winning their final group game.

Ricardo Gareca’s Peru face a nerve-jangling play-off against Anthony Hudson’s New Zealand, while Chile and Paraguay miss out, with Juan Antonio Pizzi subsequently leaving his post at Chile.


Qualified Managers: 3

United States shocking failed to qualify for the World Cup for the first time since 1986, with Bruce Arena’s men even missing out on a play-off place after they were beaten 2-1 by Trinidad and Tobago. As a result the under-fire Arena is expected to leave his post at the helm.

Juan Carlos Osorio led Mexico to top spot in the CONCACAF zone, who will be joined by Costa Rica manager Oscar Ramirez and Panama’s Hernan Dario Gomez who created history after he became the first man to lead the country through to a World Cup. Meanwhile, Honduras (Jorge Luis Pinto) face Australia (Ange Postecoglou) in the play-offs.

AFC Zone

Qualified Managers: 4

Over in Asia the former Real Madrid manager Carlos Queiroz led unbeaten Iran to top spot in AFC Group, ahead of Shin Tae-yong South Korea who also progressed from the group, while Ayman Al Hakeem’s Syria heartbreakingly lost to Australia in the play-offs, who as stated in the above section will lock horns with Honduras in the final play-offs.

In Group B Vahid Halilhodzic’s Japan emerged victorious ahead of runners-up Saudi Arabia, whose boss Bert van Marwijk stepped down last month (after negotiations broke down) ahead of the World Cup, with Edgardo Bauza taking over.

African Zone

Qualified Managers: 2

There were dramatic scenes over the weekend as Hector Cuper’s Egypt scored a last-gasp winner at home to Congo (2-1) to end years of hurt and progress through to their first World Cup since 1990. Scenes. Nigeria, led by Salisu Yusuf, will also be appearing in Russia next year, while three other spots are still up for grabs.

Betting Odds Tips

Managers Departed

Last man down

Darren Moore
Darren Moore
(Doncaster Rovers)
1st March
Bet £10 Get £40 in Free Bets
Exclusive Promo Code
#AD 18+. Play Safe. New customers using promo code M40 only. 1x per customer. Min £/€10 bet. Min odds 1/2 (1.5). Free bets of 2 x £/€15 issued after first qualifying bet settles. Max £/€10 Bonus. 35x wagering requirement. Max redeemable bonus: £25. Casino bonus expires after 72 hours. UK & Eire only. Additional T&Cs, including free-bet, game, location, payment method and stake contributions apply. begambleaware.org.
Up to £100 in bet credits
Exclusive Promo Code
#AD Open Account Offer. Up to £100 in Bet Credits for new customers at bet365. Min deposit £5. Bet Credits available for use upon settlement of bets to value of qualifying deposit. Min odds, bet and payment method exclusions apply. Returns exclude Bet Credits stake. Time limits and T&Cs apply. The bonus code ‘100BET365’ can be used during registration, but does not change the offer amount in any way. 18+ begambleaware.org.
Advert Disclaimer
Thesackrace.com is a free online resource which endeavour to provide helpful and useful content and odds comparison to its visitors. Please be advised that Thesackrace.com accepts affiliate commission from the companies appearing on the site, and agreed commission levels impact the location and order in which the companies (and/or their products) are presented on the website. Any ratings that appear on this site is determined by our subjective opinion of the brand but also based on market share and reputation, each brand's conversion rates, commission paid to us and general consumer interest. Company listings on this page don't imply our endorsement. We do not feature all providers on the market. Except as expressly set forth in our terms and conditions, all statements and warranties regarding the information presented on this page are disclaimed. The information, including odds, which appear on this site is subject to change at any time.
Next in firing line Hottest Manager Markets

Premier League

Next Manager to Leave


Next Manager

Atletico Madrid

Next Manager


Next Manager


Next Manager

Crystal Palace

Next Manager


Next Manager


Next Manager

Manchester United

Next Manager

Newcastle United

Next Manager

Paris St Germain

Next Manager

Real Madrid

Next Manager

Republic of Ireland

Next Manager


Next Manager


Next Manager
£20 Risk Free First Bet Money Back In Cash
New customers only. Place your FIRST bet on any sportsbook market and if it loses we will refund your stake in CASH. Max refund for this offer is €/£20. T&Cs apply. 18+ begambleaware.org
We use cookies to provide statistics that help give you the best experience of our site. By continuing to use the site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn more
Got It