Who won what at the LMA Manager Awards?

Jack Kitson by Jack Kitson / 15 May 2019, 09:24

English football celebrated the majestic achievements of the mesmerising focal point of the beautiful game - The Manager - on Tuesday night as the LMA Manager awards were dished out in the capital.

Here are the winners…

LMA Manager of the Year = Chris Wilder

Chris Wilder scooped the top gong after leading Sheffield United back into the Premier League following a 12-year absence. The Blades boss became only the fifth manager outside of the Premier League to win the award, following in the footsteps of Eddie Howe, Steve Coppell, Danny Wilson, and Peter Reid.

It caps a remarkable four years for Wilder during which he’s won three promotions; the first of which was achieved at Northampton (League Two title, 2016), a year later his new Sheffield United side were crowned Champions of League One, then he steered his boyhood club up to the Promised Land at the second time of asking.

Premier League Manager of the Year = Pep Guardiola

Pep Guardiola beat off competition from Jurgen Klopp, Mauricio Pochettino, and Nuno Santo to be crowned the No. Premier League gaffer for the second successive season. The Spaniard became only the second manager - after Sir Alex Ferguson - to win the award back-to-back, and the fifth to triumph on multiple occasions.

Championship Manager of the Year = Chris Wilder

Prior to picking up the LMA Manager of the Year, Wilder was on stage clutching hold of the Championship edition.

“To be voted for by your peers to get this award is just unbelievable and caps off an incredible season for me and everybody at Sheffield United,” revealed a jubilant Wilder, a lifelong Blade.

In just his second season managing in the second-tier Wilder fended off the challenge from Marcelo Bielsa’s Leeds to win automatic promotion, meaning he can now look forward to duels with the likes of Pep Guardiola, Jurgen Klopp, and Mauricio Pochettino.

League One Manager of the Year = Mick Harford

An incredible four months for Mick Harford. The Luton legend rather reluctantly stepped into the hot seat in January after Nathan Jones was lured over to Stoke.

The Hatters, promoted under Jones the previous season, were second in League One at the time - five points behind Portsmouth - and while there were inevitably concerns that Jones’ departure would disrupt the club’s promotion push, under Harford they hit new heights, losing only two of their remaining two matches before lifting the title on the final day.

Luton have since appointed Graeme Jones as their new permanent manager, who will be looking to build on the work of both Jones and Harford.

League Two Manager of the Year = Danny Cowley

Danny Cowley. What a man. The affable Lincoln boss continues to thrive in management, leading the Imps to two promotions in three seasons, the latest of which was achieved in mid-April. Cowley’s troops lifted the title a week later and will now play in the third-tier of English football for the first time this millennium.

Women's Super League = Joe Montemurro

Arsenal gaffer Joe Montemurro was awarded the Women's Super League accolade after he led the Gunners to the title in his first full-season, their first league gong since 2012.

Women's Championship = Karen Hills

Tottenham ladies, on a shoestring budget, secured a stunning promotion up to the top-flight, an achievement which saw their boss Karen Hills scoop the Women's Championship manager award.

Betting Odds Tips

Managers Departed

Last man down

Harry Kewell
Harry Kewell
(Oldham Athletic)
7th March
Bet £10 Get £40 in Free Bets
Exclusive Promo Code
#AD 18+. Play Safe. New customers using promo code M40 only. 1x per customer. Min £/€10 bet. Min odds 1/2 (1.5). Free bets of 2 x £/€15 issued after first qualifying bet settles. Max £/€10 Bonus. 35x wagering requirement. Max redeemable bonus: £25. Casino bonus expires after 72 hours. UK & Eire only. Additional T&Cs, including free-bet, game, location, payment method and stake contributions apply. begambleaware.org.
Up to £100 in bet credits
Exclusive Promo Code
#AD Open Account Offer. Up to £100 in Bet Credits for new customers at bet365. Min deposit £5. Bet Credits available for use upon settlement of bets to value of qualifying deposit. Min odds, bet and payment method exclusions apply. Returns exclude Bet Credits stake. Time limits and T&Cs apply. The bonus code ‘100BET365’ can be used during registration, but does not change the offer amount in any way. 18+ begambleaware.org.
Advert Disclaimer
Thesackrace.com is a free online resource which endeavour to provide helpful and useful content and odds comparison to its visitors. Please be advised that Thesackrace.com accepts affiliate commission from the companies appearing on the site, and agreed commission levels impact the location and order in which the companies (and/or their products) are presented on the website. Any ratings that appear on this site is determined by our subjective opinion of the brand but also based on market share and reputation, each brand's conversion rates, commission paid to us and general consumer interest. Company listings on this page don't imply our endorsement. We do not feature all providers on the market. Except as expressly set forth in our terms and conditions, all statements and warranties regarding the information presented on this page are disclaimed. The information, including odds, which appear on this site is subject to change at any time.
Next in firing line Hottest Manager Markets


Next Manager

Atletico Madrid

Next Manager


Next Manager


Next Manager

Crystal Palace

Next Manager


Next Manager


Next Manager

Manchester United

Next Manager

Newcastle United

Next Manager

Paris St Germain

Next Manager

Real Madrid

Next Manager

Republic of Ireland

Next Manager


Next Manager


Next Manager
£20 Risk Free First Bet Money Back In Cash
New customers only. Place your FIRST bet on any sportsbook market and if it loses we will refund your stake in CASH. Max refund for this offer is €/£20. T&Cs apply. 18+ begambleaware.org
We use cookies to provide statistics that help give you the best experience of our site. By continuing to use the site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn more
Got It