Antonio Conte, Jose Mourinho, Mauricio Pochettino and Pep Guardiola up for 2017 FIFA Coach of the Year gong

Jack Kitson by Jack Kitson / 17 August 2017, 16:43

FIFA have announced the 12 managers in with a chance of winning the 2017 Coach of the Year gong, and unfortunately there is no place for former Sunderland boss David Moyes, which comes as a huge shock, and really opens up the playing field.

Instead, the Premier League has four representatives in Chelsea’s Antonio Conte, Man Utd’s Jose Mourinho, Tottenham’s Mauricio Pochettino and Pep Guardiola (Man City), who come up against 10 other gaffers: Max Allegri (Juventus), Carlo Ancelotti (Bayern Munich), Luis Enrique (formerly of Barcelona), Leonardo Jardim (AS Monaco), Joachim Low (Germany), Diego Simeone (Atletico Madrid), Tite (Brazil), and of course Zinedine Zidane (Real Madrid).

Conte hoisted the Premier League title in his first season on English shores, bagging a record-breaking 30 wins en route to his fourth league title in his last four seasons in club football (the other three triumphs were with Juventus).

2010 Coach of the Year Mourinho may have flopped in the league (6th) but he did win a treble (of sorts) in his first season with Man Utd, hoisting the Europa League, League Cup and Community Shield, with the former securing the club’s return into the Champions League.

Guardiola’s debut season in charge of Man City may have been considered a disappointment by most - he failed to win a single trophy - but obviously not those at FIFA who have included the Spaniard in their dozen selections.

Mauricio Pochettino was another manager who ended the season without a trophy, but Tottenham enjoyed another impressive league campaign, coming 2nd behind Chelsea.

Of the 12 contenders Zidane will certainly fancy his chances of glory after he became the first manager to ever win back-to-back Champions League trophies, in his first two attempts. The Frenchman, second last year to Claudio Ranieri, has enjoyed an astonishing 19 months in charge of Real Madrid, last season adding La Liga to his rapidly growing trophy cabinet.

Juventus boss Allegri came agonisingly close to bagging a famous treble, but again fell short at the final hurdle, after missing out on the Champions League trophy.

Other contenders include Ancelotti who lifted the Bundesliga in his first season with Bayern Munich, Copa del Rey winning Enrique who then left Barcelona in the summer, but while he failed to win any other trophies in his final season he did oversee one of the greatest comebacks in football history (you know what I’m talking about).

Monaco manager Jardim enjoyed a stellar season, swatting away the challenge of PSG to win the French title, while his side were simply electric en route to the Champions League semi-finals, employing a dazzling brand of high tempo, attacking football.

Other names in the frame, include Germany boss Low, Atletico Madrid’s Simeone and Brazil boss Tite.


Managers Departed

Last man down

Gary Bowyer
Gary Bowyer
6th August

Premier League

Next Manager to Leave


Next Manager Odds


Next Manager Odds


Next Manager Odds

Leicester City

Next Manager Odds

Manchester United

Next Manager Odds

Newcastle United

Next Manager Odds

Republic of Ireland

Next Manager Odds