LMA Manager of the Year 2019/20 Odds: Featuring Pep Guardiola, Jurgen Klopp and Chris Wilder

Jack Kitson by Jack Kitson / 20 August 2019, 16:14

The LMA Manager of the Year awards ceremony may seem like an eternity away, and that’s because it is, with the prestigious gongs usually dished out in May - over eight months away.

However, the odds for the 2019/20 LMA Manager market are already available at this incredibly early stage of the season, meaning there’s some great value to be had in the betting.

Who are the favourites?

2018 winner Pep Guardiola has been installed as the early 7/4 frontrunner to become a multiple Manager of the Year winner.

Only four managers have achieved this feat - Sir Alex Ferguson (5), David Moyes (3), Arsene Wenger (2), and Steve Coppell (2) - but Guardiola faces a tough task to join this group given that he lost out last season despite winning an unprecedented domestic treble.

Jurgen Klopp is available at 2/1 to come out on top, and should he win the Premier League title then the award will be on its way to Merseyside.

Other names in the frame include the 16/1 priced duo of Norwich boss Daniel Farke and Arsenal’s Unai Emery, ahead of Mauricio Pochettino, Nuno Santo, and Ole Gunnar Solskjaer who can all be backed at 20/1.

2014 LMA winner Brendan Rodgers could prove to be the value bet at 25/1. He’s assembled an exciting, high-quality squad at Leicester City, who are many people’s dark horses to break up the monopoly of the top-six. The same could also be said for Marco Silva, who is out at 33/1.

Can Chris Wilder double-up?

This time last year few would have put forward Chris Wilder as a realistic candidate for 2018/19 managerial glory. After all, at the time only one manager outside of the Premier League had been crowned LMA Manager of the Year since 2006, while Wilder’s Blades hadn’t exactly enjoyed the best of starts to the campaign, having lost both of their opening two games while they were also knocked out of the EFL Cup by Hull.

Fast-forward to May 2019 and Wilder had propelled his boyhood club back into the Premier League, a stunning achievement which saw him pip Marcelo Bielsa and Daniel Farke to the Championship Manager of the Year gong. Better still, he then scooped the top LMA award, ahead of a certain Pep Guardiola.

It's early days but so far the signs have been very positive. Wilder’s men are staying true to their unique style of play - which includes the use of overlapping centre-backs - and have so far taken four points from their opening two games.

Wilder can currently be backed at 25/1 to double-up and become the first back-to-back LMA winner since former Reading boss Steve Coppell (2006 and 2007).

What about other former winners?

Chris Wilder joins four other former LMA Managers of the Year in the Premier League this season: Guardiola (2018), Eddie Howe (2015), Brendan Rodgers (2014), and Roy Hodgson (2010).

Howe was the top dawg in 2015 following Bournemouth’s historic promotion to the Premier League. The south coast side have since been a breath of fresh air, establishing themselves in the top-flight with their exciting brand of football. However, it’s likely to take something pretty special in order for Howe, a 33/1 shot, to get his mitts on the LMA award this season.

Hodgson, who at 72 is the Premier League’s oldest ever manager, was named Manager of the Year in 2010 after Fulham’s memorable run through to the Europa League final, and 12th-place league finish on a small budget. It will be a tough ask for the veteran gaffer to bag the spotlight again this season (50/1) considering that he’s one of the early favourites in the Premier League Sack Race.

Will there be another winner from outside the Premier League?

Since the LMA awards were inaugurated in 1993, only five winners have come from outside of the Premier League. We’ve already mentioned Chris Wilder (2018), Eddie Howe (2015), and Steve Coppell (2006), while the first Football League victors were Peter Reid (1996) and Danny Wilson (1997).

Bet Victor have priced up ‘any non-Premier League manager’ at 12/1. Marcelo Bielsa would undoubtedly be in contention if he was to end Leeds’ 16-year Premier League exile, Lee Bowyer continues to shine at Charlton, while Danny Cowley will be looking to continue his rapid rise at Lincoln with a third promotion in four years.

Managers Departed

Last man down

Paul Cook
Paul Cook
(Wigan Athletic)
1st August
Bet £10 Get £30 in Free Bets
Exclusive Promo Code
New customers using Promo Code P30 only, min £10/€10 stake, min odds 1/2, free bets paid as 2 x £15/€15 (30 days expiry), free bet/payment method/player/country restrictions apply. T&C's apply, 18+ begambleaware.org
Up to £100 in bet credits
Exclusive Promo Code
Open Account Offer. Up to £100 in Bet Credits for new customers at bet365. Min deposit £5. Bet Credits available for use upon settlement of bets to value of qualifying deposit. Min odds, bet and payment method exclusions apply. Returns exclude Bet Credits stake. Time limits and T&Cs apply. The bonus code ‘100BET365’ can be used during registration, but does not change the offer amount in any way. 18+ begambleaware.org.
Next in firing line Hottest Manager Markets


Next Manager

Bristol City

Next Manager

Newcastle United

Next Manager

Scunthorpe United

Next Manager

Southend United

Next Manager


Next Manager
Bet £10 Get £30 + 30 Free Spins
New UK & N.Ire Customers Only You must stake £10 or more at single/cumulative odds of Evens (2.0) or greater on your first bet. Free bet balance of £30 credited within 48 hours of your first bet being settled. Free Bets expire after 7 days. E-Wallet restrictions apply. Minimum 5 game rounds. Game restrictions apply. Maximum 30 Free Spins on selected games. Free Spins expire after 7 days. T&C's apply, 18+ begambleaware.org
We use cookies to provide statistics that help give you the best experience of our site. By continuing to use the site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn more
Got It