Gareth Southgate leads England through to 2018 World Cup

Jack Kitson by Jack Kitson / 06 October 2017, 11:33

England have progressed through to their 15th World Cup following a slender, and soulless, 1-0 victory over Slovenia, meaning they can’t be caught at the summit of qualifying Group F.

11 managers have led England at World Cups, most recently Roy Hodgson in Brazil four years ago, meaning the current incumbent Gareth Southgate is set to become Number 12 when he takes charge of The Three Lions in Russia next summer.

England, of course, won their one and only World Cup a whopping 51 years ago on home soil. Since then they’ve only reached the semi-finals only once (1990), while they’ve failed to even progress through to the quarter-finals since 2006, with their last showing a humiliating group stage exit in 2014.

Southgate, as many men before him, will be bidding to change this in Russia, although few would consider his troops a major challenger out at 24/1. It’s defending champions Germany who lead the way in the betting for glory at 5/1, followed by the likes of Brazil, Spain, France, and Argentina, although the latter are struggling to even qualify over in the competitive┬áSouth American zone.

Ahead of the final 1-2 rounds of qualifying we’ve devised a tricky World Cup manager quiz for you all, which puts your knowledge to the test.

Seeing as England haven’t won the famous gold trophy since 1966...we ask whether you can name every manager to win the trophy since this tournament 51 years ago? This includes the manager who came out on top in 1966, but we think you may know that one...

(Warning - It’s hard!)


Managers Departed

Last man down

Gary Bowyer
Gary Bowyer
6th August

Premier League

Next Manager to Leave


Next Manager Odds


Next Manager Odds


Next Manager Odds

Leicester City

Next Manager Odds

Manchester United

Next Manager Odds

Newcastle United

Next Manager Odds

Republic of Ireland

Next Manager Odds