World Cup Winning Football Managers

World Cup Manager History

The World Cup is the biggest showpiece in football, bringing together the best teams, players and managers on the planet. The tournament is jam-packed full of unparalled excitement, drama and tension and it takes a special manager to lead a country to glory.

Managing an international team is one of the hardest jobs in football. Many have crumbled under the immense pressure, while others have stepped up to the plate and reaped the rewards. In total 19 Managers have got their hands on the prized golden globe, while only one, Italy's Vittorio Pozzo, has done it twice, winning back-to-back World Cups in 1934 and 1938.

Only two men in history have achieved the remarkable feat of winning the World Cup as both a manager and a player. Brazil's Mario Zagallo experienced success as a player in 1958, and then became the first man to do the player/manager double by masterminding his side€™s 1962 triumph. In 1974 the legendary Franz Beckenbaur captained Germany to glory and then 16 years later was the manager when they won Italy 1990.

In total Brazil hold the record for the most World Cup winning managers with five, while Italy and Germany follow closely behind with four apiece. One statistic that remains is that all World Cup winning managers came from the country in which they led to victory, although this is likely to change in the future due to the amount of foreign managers taking charge of other nations.

Sir Alf Ramsey remains the only English manager to have lifted the World Cup. Since that famous night in 1966 many managers have tried and failed to lead England to glory. The closest The Three Lions came to their second World Cup was in 1990 when they reached the semi-finals under Bobby Robson, only to experience heartache as they lost to Germany on penalties. Roy Hodgson is the Current England Manager, although he endured a torrid time in Brazil after The Three Lions suffered an early exit in the group stages.

Joachim Low leads Germany to World Cup glory

Germany manager Joachim Low became the 19th manager to lift the World Cup in the summer of 2014 after masterminding a 1-0 victory over Argentina in the Final. The victory meant that Germany, who became the first European country to win on South American soil, are now level with Italy on four golden globes.

World Cup Winning Managers

1930: Alberto Suppici (Uruguay)
1934: Vittorio Pozzo (Italy)
1938: Vittorio Pozzo (Italy)
1950: Juan Lopez Fontana (Uruguay)
1954: Sepp Herberger (West Germany)
1958: Vicente Feola (Brazil)
1962: Aymore Moreira (Brazil)
1966: Alf Ramsey (England)
1970: Mario Zagallo (Brazil)
1974: Helmut Schon (West Germany)
1978: Cesar Luis Menotti (Argentina)
1982: Enzo Bearzot (Italy)
1986: Carlos Bilardo (Argentina)
1990: Franz Beckenbauer (West Germany)
1994: Carlos Alberto Parreira (Brazil)
1998: Aime Jacquet (France)
2002: Luiz Felipe Scolari (Brazil)
2006: Marcello Lippi (Italy)
2010: Vicente del Bosque (Spain)
2014: Joachim Low (Germany)


Managers Departed

Last man down

Graham Potter
Graham Potter
(Swansea City)
20th May